PTK Alpha Chi Tau Chapter inducts new members

Oct 9, 2023Gail Crutchfield
PTK Induction Fall 2023

Wallace State Community College's Alpha Chi Tau Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society recently inducted new members for the Fall 2023 semester. More than 50 students accepted the invitation to join the chapter.

Hanceville, AL — More than 50 Wallace State Community College students were recently inducted in the college’s Alpha Chi Tau Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society.

Membership in Phi Theta Kappa is extended by invitation only. To be eligible, a student must be enrolled in an associate-degree program, have completed at least 12 hours of college-level course work leading to an associate degree, have a grade point average of 3.5 or better, exhibit good moral character, and possess recognized leadership qualities.

The members of Alpha Chi Tau participate in mentoring programs with at-risk students in area high schools, tutorial relationships with Wallace State students, community-service projects in Cullman County and in neighboring counties, and programs sponsored by Wallace State and other institutions to promote academic enrichment.

Membership also opens opportunity for PTK scholarships as the student moves on to four-year universities. Students are inducted twice a year, during the spring and fall semesters. PTK members are eligible for commencement honors during the college’s annual graduation ceremonies.

The Wallace State Alpha Chi Tau Chapter this year received the designation as a REACH Chapter, which honors programs that excel in membership development. The designation is part of the national Phi Theta Kappa REACH Reward program.

Students inducted into PTK for the Fall 2023 semester include:

Altoona: Daniella Ann Delcamp

Arab: John Adam Burden, Mackenzie Tankersley

Athens: Andrew Braden

Birmingham: Getsemani Gil, Mary Angelica Keith

Boaz: Owie Mezettia Katrise Abercrombie

Bremen: Elizabeth Shi-re Kennedy

Cleveland: Gracie Fendley, Andrew Pollard

Cullman: Elaina Marie Agnello, Annalee Allen, Auduranna Davis, Lillie McCluskey, Alethia Schaefers, Natalie Smith, Zebulon Smith, Emma Thomas, Bryce Weidman, Jessica Youmans

Dora: Jonathan Lance Kelly, Joshua Luke Kelly

Dutton: Lila Kate Wheeler

Falkville: Abagail G. Goodwin

Hanceville: Hanna Elizabeth Mebius

Hartselle: Zackary Eakes, Hali Hollingsworth

Hayden: Regina Dia, Gavin C. Graham, Harley Wade Penny, Wesley Twilley

Jasper: James Evan Myers

Joppa: Amy Elizabeth Latham, Allie Marie Scott

Madison: Sheila Michelle Lawrence

Mt Olive: Kayla Duckworth, Heather Young

Oneonta: Ana Chacon, Sandra Chacon, Nazary Josephine Chavez

Smiths Station: McKinnon Howard

Somerville: Emily Hall

Springville: Prayer Martin

Sulligent: Laura Leigh Wheeler

Tanner: Emily Simon, Katie Simon

Trussville: Sinia Maria Romero Lopez

Vinemont: Sarah Herfurth, Olivia Roberts, Jillian Spann

Winfield: Matthew May

Winchester, Tenn.: Amelia Sherrill

For more information about PTK, contact sponsor Brandon Smith at 256.352.8207, or visit

Registration for Fall 2023 Mini Term II is underway, with classes beginning Oct. 19. Priority registration for Spring 2024 is scheduled to begin Oct. 23, with registration for all students on Oct. 26. Spring 2024 classes begin Jan. 8. For more information, visit, call 256.352.8000 or come by Lion Central in the lobby of the James C. Bailey Center Monday-Wednesday 7:30 a.m. to 6 p.m., Thursday 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., or Friday 7:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.


View photos from induction ceremon:

Media Contact

  • Kristen Holmes
  • Vice President for Students and Chief Marketing Officer
  • 256-352-8233

submit a Marketing request

Other Stories